Echonews Nigeria Community News

Echonews – GET the latest community news from Nigeria

LASCON Fulfills One of Prerequisites To Run HND Programme

Student nurses)

The inauguration of a governing council to oversee the activities of the Lagos State College of Nursing (LASCON) by the state governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu has raised the chances of the college to run Higher National Diploma.

The National Board of Technical Education has denied the institution the power to run nursing education at HND level until it satisfies all the condition, including the formation of a governing council.

Commending the government for inaugurating the council, the Provost of LASCON, Mrs. Oyefunso Orenuga expressed gratitude to the State Governor recalled that the constitution of the Governing Council members for the College is one of the prerequisites for the accreditation to run the Higher National Diploma (HND) and the Public Health Nursing (PHN) programmes in the College.

Orenuga who spoke at the first meeting of the council thanked the Chairman of the council Prof. Olaide Bamidele Edet, and other members for taking up the huge responsibility of taking the College to a greater height, promised that the Council will always get the maximum cooperation from the workforce.

The recently appointed seven-member Governing Council by the Lagos State Governor has Prof. Olaide Bamidele Edet, who is the Deputy Dean, Faculty of Allied Medical Sciences at the University of Calabar and also a product of the Lagos School of Nursing, Awolowo Road.


At the meeting, Edet sought the cooperation of all members of staff to work with the council as a team during their tenure to achieve the goals and objectives set for the College, just as she thanked them for their dedication and commitment.

Dr. Bola Ofi, the Head of the Nursing Programme at Lagos State University College of Medicine, who is also a member of the Governing Council, applauded the Provost for the continuous upgrade and maintenance of the College infrastructure since its relocation from Awolowo Road, Ikoyi to the Igando Campus.

The seven members of the Governing Council are Prof. Olaide Bamidele Edet (Chairman); Dr. Bola Ofi, Member; Mrs. Dorcas Shonibare, Member; Dr. Funmi Shokunbi (Rep. MoH) Member; Mrs. Oluwakemi Salau (Rep. OSAE) Member; Comrade Olurotimi Awojide (Rep. NNAMN) Member and Mrs. Oyefunso Orenuga (Provost, LASCON).