Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

Echonews Nigeria Community News

Echonews – GET the latest community news from Nigeria

Grace wins TMG primaries; Alashe, Ojo, Shonde, Larry, and Lummy also emerge


After six hours of shadow primaries by the members of The Mandate Group, TMG in Ejigbo Local Council Development Area, six aspirants beat other 26 aspirants to emerge the flagbearers of the group.
They are Mrs. Grace Okere for Ifoshi ward, Mrs. Yemisi Alashe (Oke-Afa), Mr Olanrewaju Akinbowale ( Ilamoshe) Mr. Tajudeen Adeola Shonde ( Fadu), Mr. Ayotunde Ojo (Aigbaka) and Mr. Olumide Ogunbameru.
To emerge the winner in Ifoshi, Okere received 51 votes to beat Adelowo Olalekan who polled 32 votes, Ajani Adekola, 23, Falana Idowu, 7 and Mrs. Joke Adeosun, 5.
In Oke-Afa, Mrs. Alashe polled 14 votes to defeat Mr. Olaniyi Adefusi who got 5 votes, Mr. Shampson Adeoti, 4 and Babatunde Sanni, 2.
Ojo led other contenders in Aigbaka ward by polling 39 votes to defeat Mr. Odusanya Saheed, 16, Adepegba Kehinde, 9, Adeola Wahab, 2, Alfred Idris, 1, Oyegbemile Olusegun, 1.
In Fadu ward, Mr. Tajudeen Shonde polled 42 votes to defeat close rival Mr.Semiu Adeogun, 30, Mr. Wasiu Rabiu, 6, Bolarinwa Benjamin, 1, Banmeke Ronke,1.Mr. Ogunbameru polled 27 votes to defeat John Ojo, 2 votes and Seyi Ajetunmobi, 1 to emerge winners.
The shadow election in Ilamoshe ward which produced Akinbowale saw him polling 25 votes to defeat Ojoola Shakirudeen, 5 votes and Haruna Yakubu, 4 votes.
The voters, numbering 504 were members of the group who had attended at least three out of the 12 ward meetings from October, 2016 till March, 2017.
The register was compiled by a committee chaired by Mr. Dele Olokobi.
The Electoral Committee was chaired by a retired civil servant, Mrs. Eunice Idowu. Other members are Mrs. Chinwe Egbe, Mrs. Aderoju Ojikutu, Mr. Adedamola Apena and Mr. Dele Razak.
The shadow election was observed by the personal assistant to Hon. Jude Idimogu, Member, Lagos State House of Assembly, Pastor M.S.Ojo, Chairman, Jakande Progressive Movement, Prince Dimeji Gbadamosi and chairman, the former Deputy Executive Secretary, Ejigbo LCDA, Hon. Remi Gbadegesin and TMG chairman, Mr. Kola Ojo.