Echonews Nigeria Community News

Echonews – GET the latest community news from Nigeria

Ejigbo senior high school to compete at Felabration school debate 


Ejigbo senior high school to compete at 2018 Felabration school debate 

By Felix Kuyinu

The management of Ejigbo High School has shortlisted the students who would take part in the 2018 edition of the biennial Felaberation Secondary School Debate contest.

The event, the 9th edition tagged “Creation of State Police in Nigeria” billed for October 10, 2018 is aimed at highlighting the duties of the Police Force to the public, enhancing the standard of educational knowledge and capabilities among public schools students in the state, thereby improving the educational sector in the country.


According to Mr. Borha, a renowned debater, the motive behind the debate contest scheduled to be held at Freedom Park, Lagos Island cut across impacting the required knowledge in students to become world class debaters and as part of the effort of the organizers of Felaberation to give back to the society through education.

Borha stressed that the school debate contest, endorsed by the Lagos State Ministry of Education was established not only to bring out the best in logical thought processes of the school children, but also to sensitize them on burning topical national issues.

According to him, over the years, the event has attracted the best of secondary school students in Lagos.

He also revealed that the Felaberation Organization Committee is determined to enhance the standard of this year’s annual secondary school debate as it recently organized a capacity building workshop for teachers from the participating schools inside the Freedom Park.

Besides Ejigbo Senior High School, other schools that made the shortlist for the contest include Ipakode Senior Grammar School, Ikorodu, Epe Girls Senior High School, Epe, Herbert Macaulay Senior Girls High School, Sabo Yaba, and Ajara Senior Grammar School, Badagry.


Others are Rainbow College, Surulere, Baptist Academy, Obanikoro, Ikorodu Road, St. Gregory’s College, Obalende, Aunty Ayo International School, Keffi, Ikoyiand Vivian Fowler Memorial College for Girls, Ikeja.

Past winners include Vetland College, Ifako Ijaye, Dowen College, Lekki, Lagos State Model College, Ikosi Agbowa and Vivian Fowler Memorial College for Girls, Ikeja.