Echonews Nigeria Community News

Echonews Online Community News

APC Primaries: Sanwo-Olu, Zulum, AbdulRasak to emerge unopposed


By Abolaji Adebayo

Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, Babagana Zulum of Borno State and AbdulRaham AbdulRasaq of Kwara State will go into the party’s primaries unopposed as ruling party, All Progressives Congress (APC) closed sales of forms on Tuesday, May 10.

The three governors will be elected as the party’s flag bearers for the governorship election in 2023.

They have no challengers for the primaries in their respective states since no member of the party obtained the APC’s N50million Expression of Interest and Nomination forms for governorship poll.

Therefore, APC gubernatorial primaries are going to be a walk over for Governors Sanwo-Olu, Zulum and AbdulRasaq.

But unlike their colleagues, five other APC governors, who are seeking reelection in 2023 will slug it out with other aspirants during the forthcoming APC primaries.

The APC governors facing opposition in their respective states due to power tussle among party’s stakeholders are Bello Matawalle (Zamfara), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa) and Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe).

Like this content?
Subscribe to Echonews to receive our community news update in your inbox