Echonews Nigeria Community News

Echonews – GET the latest community news from Nigeria

Ojo LG Chairman Inaugurates New CDC


By Rasaq Adebayo 

The newly inaugurated Community Development Committee of Ojo Local Government has been advised to always support and propagate Government policies, programmes, and activities for the progress and development of the area.

The above was the counsel of the council Chairman, Hon. Rasulu Olusola Idowu during the inauguration ceremony after the ratification of the new executive committee to steer the affairs for the next two years in line with the rules and regulations guiding the establishment of the committee in Lagos State.

The event was witnessed by the State officials from the Ministry of Local Government, Chieftaincy and Rural Development on Wednesday at the Local Government Secretariat.

Idowu, while congratulating the new Exco, further appreciated and commended the Community Development Committee’s unflinching support and cooperation for his administration, adding that the new exco should step up this gesture for the betterment of the people of the area.


In his remark, the Special Assistant to the Governor on Community Development, Hon. Akinyemi Ajigbotafe lauded the immense contributions and achievements of the Executive Chairman on Community Development and urged him to do more for his people.

The State Director, Community Development Development Department, Mrs. Adeniji Oluwatoyin also commended the Executive Chairman on his laudable and mass-oriented programmes at the grassroots, noting that his exemplary and phenomenal leadership deserved to be emulated.

Earlier, in her welcome address, the Head of Agric and Community Services Department, Mrs. Folashade Tobun explained that the Community Development Committee has been cooperative with the Local Government.

She then announced the ratification of the Executive Committee as agreed: Chairman, Alhaji Makinde Jimoh Niyi, 1st Vice Chairman, Alhaji Shitta Adams, 2nd Vice Chairman, Mr.Sunday Kiki, Secretary, Alhaji Mukadas Hassan, Asst. Secretary, Alhaji S.A Ogundeji, Treasurer, Alhaji Tiamiyu Rasulu, Financial Secretary, Mr. Aina Olusegun, Auditor, Hon. Peter Israel, Publicity Secretary, Marufu Sanni, Social Secretary, Jamie Abiola Yinusa, others are Welfare Officer 1, Mr. Fatigue Amodu, Welfare Officer 2, Mrs. Akisanya Janent, Ex Officio 1, Mrs. Tanwa Akigbade, Ex Officio 2, Mr. Awesome Idowu Oridetu, Ex Officio 3, Mr. Matimiloju Haruna.

The new CDC Chairman, Alhaji Makinde Jiomoh Niyi, in his acceptance speech, reiterated the commitment of the committee to always support and cooperate with the Local Government for the betterment and progress of the people at the grassroots.


The occasion was witnessed by the Secretary to the Local Government, Hon. Babatunde Lawal Olorunfunmi, Supervisor for Agric, Rural and Economic Development, Hon. Junaid Olarenwaju Hammond, Supervisor for Environment, Hon. Joel Tundonu, Assistant Director, Divisional Head, Mr. Abogunrin Babatunde, Division Head, Ikeja 11, Mrs. Otunla Titilayoa, and other stakeholders.