Echonews Nigeria Community News

Echonews – GET the latest community news from Nigeria

Lagos FA Cup: 85 Clubs To Challenge For Glory



By Saheed Afolabi


The Lagos State Football Association (LSFA) Cup draws will hold at the Teslim Balogun stadium on Thursday, February 29.


Over 85 clubs situated in Lagos signified interest and purchased forms for one of the oldest football tournament in Nigeria.

In the men’s category, 80 clubs will be paired in the draws where the mechanisms of the tournament will be shared with the sport stakeholders.

Despite the abundance of women’s football clubs in Lagos, only five teams will participate in the 2024 Lagos FA Cup.

The two finalists in each category will represent Lagos State at the NFF Federation Cup that will hold at the second quarter of the year.

Ikorodu City are the defending champions of the Lagos FA Cup after dismantling perennial winners Smart City 2-0 at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Onikan last year.


Robo Queens made history to win the competition for a record 13 times last year after defeating Dannaz Ladies in the final.

Past winners the Lagos FA Cup includes, Dannaz FC, Smart City, Robo Queens, COD United, First Bank, Stationery Stores, Union Bank and others.

The Lagos FA Cup was established in 1945 and was known as the Governor’s Cup, it was later used to birth the now known Federation Cup.