Echonews Nigeria Community News

Echonews – GET the latest community news from Nigeria

Ambode adopts Oladele Alake – Community school in Ejigbo



Parents and pupils of Oladele Alake primary school,  Ailegun, Ejigbo jumped and danced when they learnt that the Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode approved the recognition of the community school.

The Lagos State Government (LASG) early in the year named the school among the six new public primary schools under the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).

The notification was made by the Executive Chairman, Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board, Dr Ganiyu Sopeyin, who announced this in a statement, said the development was in line with the new government policy on education.

The school, Oladele Aĺaka Primary School was established in 2013 by the Ejigbo Local Council Development Area headed by Mr. Kehinde Bamigbetan.

It is the only public primary school in the ward.

Sopeyin said the policy was to make qualitative and quantitative education available to the teeming children population of school age in the state, adding that the Akinwunmi Ambode administration had bridged the gap between public and private primary schools in the state.

He further said that public primary schools were now better than their private counterparts, stressing that the standard in public schools had improved tremendously given theimproved academic performance of the pupils.

In addition, he further disclosed that the state government had decided to pay attention to all children, irrespective of origin, adding that desks, chairs and other educational facilities had been approved for procurement.

According to Sopeyin the government primary schools in Lagos now total now 1,016.

Alongside the Oladele Aĺaka Primary School, others established include Community Primary Schools in Ibasa and Ajewanwa, both in Ojo Local Government Education Authority (LGEA)

Also established are Iju Ajuwon Primary School, Ifako-Ijaiye, Osho Sholu Primary School, Ewu Oloye, Erunwen, Ikorodu LGEA and Correctional Home for Boys, Oregun, Ikeja.